Community matters

I’ve had the pleasure of working with VMware products for the last 10 years now, and over that time I’ve changed jobs more times than I can easily count. Throughout all of the change, one thing that has remained constant is the wonderful people in the community that VMware has around itself.

I’ve seen my own contributions ebb and flow throughout my time in the community. But just being part of the community makes you part of a special family. I use the word family, because that is what it truly feels like.

I haven’t contributed a lot lately, but I’ve been in Silicon Valley during the last two weeks and it amazes me how being thousands of miles from home you can bond with folks over something common like virtualization and become friends. Talking to folks on Twitter and a organizing dinner or attending the SV VMUG yesterday, it was like I never left Austin or haven’t blogged/tweeted in awhile.

While not a technical post, I think we need to take a step back and just enjoy the moments we have with each other and the relationships we form. Individual companies/products may come and go, but this community and the relationships we build will always be here and for that I want to say to everyone reading this.

Thank you.

Thomas

Leave a Reply

